University Street – the central street of Kharkiv is located on University Hill.
Universitetskaya street appeared one of the first on the territory of Kharkov fortress. Its original name is unknown, but during its existence the street had several well-known names: Karatasovskaya, Free Academy, Kraskomovskaya.
Universitetskaya street originates from Bursatsky descent and Rymarska street, crosses the territory of the Old Town, площу Рози Люксембург and comes to the river Kharkov. The numbering of houses is from Bursatsky Spusk: the western side of the street is even, the eastern side is odd. Administratively, the street belongs to the Dzerzhinsky district of the city of Kharkov.
At the beginning of the odd side of the street, during the construction of the metro line, the old buildings of the police station and the fire station were demolished, and now it starts from the building of the former city pawnshop, where the Kharkiv Historical Museum has been located since 1994 (Universitetskaya street, No. 5).
The building was designed by the architect B. M. Kornienko in 1908. The red brick facade is made in the Old Russian style.
Further along this side of the street to Spartakovsky Lane, a square stretches, laid out on the site of those destroyed in 1941-1945. shopping malls of the Hospitable row.
The pair side of this part of the street is occupied by the buildings of the Intercession Monastery. The beginning of the monastery was laid by the parish Church of the Intercession, built by the Cossacks, who lived northwest of the fortress. In 1689 it was the first stone building in the city. Over time, the territory of the church became part of the fortress.
In 1726, on the territory of the Church of the Intercession, the Holy Intercession Men’s School Monastery with a collegium was created.
In 1805, the governor’s palace on Universitetskaya Street was again transferred to Kharkov University.
On the way from the collegium to the university, first of all, we will examine a residential building (Universitetskaya St., No. 2) erected in 1887 by architect. V.Kh. Nemkin. Behind it is the building of the spiritual consistory (ul. Universitetskaya, No. 4) 1892-1893, made in the forms of classicism by architect. V.Kh. Nemkin. Currently, this house houses the Central State Scientific and Technical Archive.
The next building (Universitetskaya St., No. 6) – the rector’s house and the gate – were also built by the architect. V.Kh. Nemkin in 1891–1892.
In the monastery courtyard (ul. Universitetskaya, No. 8) there are buildings, with the exception of the cathedral, built in the 19th century.
Intercession Cathedral was built, as noted earlier, in 1689 by a team of unknown craftsmen. In the 18th century The Church of the Intercession became a monastic and collegiate church. In 1800 the monastery (upper) church was transformed into a cathedral. Along with the cathedral in 1893, according to the project of arch. V.Kh. Nemkin in the pseudo-Byzantine style, the Ozeryanskaya church was erected. During the Soviet period, it housed the archive of the Kharkov region.
In 1825, a bishop’s building in the classicism style was built on the territory of the monastery (architect unknown). In Soviet times, the Historical Museum was located here.
On the territory of the monastery there is also a building of monastic cells with a refectory, a saddle shop building, a gatehouse and a vicar’s house. All these buildings of the second half and the end of the 19th century.
Between Spartakovsky Lane and Cathedral Descent (Khalturin Descent), down the slope to Klochkovskaya Street, Pokrovsky Terrace Square descends, laid out on the site of the buildings of the Old Passage destroyed during the Second World War, where the trading rows of jewelry or the so-called “ser. The square was created during 1951-1952. Flower beds were laid out in it, trees and shrubs were planted, paths were laid and a cascade of fountains was built.
Then we go to the odd side of the street. From Spartakovsky Lane to the Assumption Cathedral, on the site of the Hospitable Row shopping arcade destroyed during the war, a five-story residential building was built in 1953 (Universitetskaya St., No. 9) (architect G. G. Wegman, E. N. Belman) . Shops are located on the ground floor of the house.
The next object for inspection is the Assumption Cathedral (Universitetskaya St., No. 11). The history of its construction should begin with the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (1657), which was located somewhat south of the current cathedral, in the area of the building of the university library and the Ukrainian cultural center “Youth”.
In the 30s. 20th century the cathedral was closed to believers, and the entire interior decoration of the temple was lost in a fire during the occupation of Kharkov by German troops. The domes of the temple were also destroyed. Before the war, the building was used as the first Kharkiv radio station, and in the post-war years – as a sewing shop of a tape weaving factory.
Near the cathedral in 1844, the construction of the bell tower was completed (architect E.O. Vasiliev, V.P. Stasov, A.A. Ton), which lasted 23 years.
Opposite the Assumption Cathedral is the University Square (formerly Cathedral and Sovetskaya Square), in the center of which there is a monument to the fighters of the October Revolution and the fire of Eternal Glory burns, 1957 (architect L. V. Gurov).
First, the house of the places present stood on this city, then a new building was built where the provincial government worked, and in 1850-1854. built a new house, in which during the capital period the district executive committee and the provincial executive committee were alternately located, and since 1928 after reconstruction – the House of the Red Army. During the war years the building was destroyed.
The hall existed until 1796, and then was destroyed, the wardrobe was sold at auction, the theater troupe broke up. The cessation of the existence of the theater is associated with a change in the general regime in the state during the reign of Emperor Paul.
On opposite sides of the governor’s house are the buildings of the chemical (Universitetskaya street, No. 14) and physical (Universitetskaya street, No. 18) buildings of the university, built by an unknown architect, in 1777-1805. built on and reconstructed arch. E. Vasiliev.
In 1930, a new building (architect S. Kravets) of the chemical building (Universitetskaya St., No. 14a) was erected inside the university compound.
On the opposite side of the street is the Archival Department of the Kharkiv City Council (Universitetskaya St., No. 21). The building was built in the 40s of the 19th century. (architect M. Lvov,), and in 1904 – 1906. reconstructed (architect VV Velichko).
Opposite the governor’s building in 1823 – 1831. architects E. Vasiliev and I. Vatelet built a university building in the style of classicism (Universitetskaya St., No. 25).
The facade of the building was decorated with a six-column Ionic portico with a pediment. The house housed the university house church of St. Anthony the Great, assembly hall, observatory and library. During the Second World War, the building was partially destroyed, a good dome was lost. In the reconstructed in 1950-60. On the premises (architect O. G. Okulich-Kazarin), a two-screen cinema “Pioneer” was opened (since 1973, “Youth”). Since the 1990s the Ukrainian cultural center “Youth” functions in the building, where events are held to promote the development of the Ukrainian language and culture.
The building of the former Faculty of Law of the Kharkov Imperial University was built in 1909 (architect VV Velichko) in the Art Nouveau style. Currently, the Kharkiv Engineering and Pedagogical Academy (Universitetskaya St., No. 27) is located here.
Universitetskaya Street after crossing Rosa Luxembourg Square changes: further on, all the houses are mainly retail and warehouse premises that do not have architectural and historical significance. Previously, at the end of the street was the Fish Market, and now only the Rybnaya Square with a square.
Where to stay
By zooming out the map, you can see more offers. Hover over the price box to see accommodation information, or click to go to booking.