Dyyda (Hungarian: Beregdеda) is a village in the Beregiv district, Zakarpattia Oblast.
On the territory of the village, archaeologists discovered settlements of the Copper Age (3rd century BC), Bronze Age (2nd century BC) and Early Iron Age (4-8th century BC).
On the outskirts of Dyyda, in the Kirva tract, on a sandy islet-hill surrounded by a marsh, researchers discovered an ancientrus settlement-castle (11-13 centuries) , which is called Ozerny or simply Dydivskyi. The settlement could be reached by two wooden bridges, which could be set on fire in case of danger. According to the monograph of the local historian T. Lygotsky, it was a small clay castle with an internal diameter of 25 m, surrounded by three moats and a dam. There are no documentary references to the building, but according to legends, it was a refuge for robbers. Who and when it was destroyed is not known. Remains of dishes from the 14th – 16th centuries were also found here, which indicates a long period of settlement on the hill.
The modern village was formed in 1957 as a result of the merger of the Hungarian village of Beregdiyda and the Hungarian-Slovak village of Mezevhomok (Homok), which were less than 1 km from each other.

From the 16th century the village has a Greek Catholic church.

The village of Beregdiyda in the 16th century. became the place of village meetings. In the second half of the 15th century the owners of the village were Erzhebet Siladi (mother of King Matyas), Janos Korvin, Zygmond and Ernev Chaktorniai. In 1540, King Ferdinand I ordered to register Mihal Budy as the owner of the village. In 1566, the settlement suffered from an attack by the Tatars. In 1609, Ferenc Darovtsi took possession of the lands. After 1849, the Austrian government confiscated Zygmond Pereni’s local alum production plant along with the baron’s land holdings.

In 1556, local residents adopted the reformed faith. The Roman Catholic church, built in the 15th century, was used for services. The temple building is simple, rather miniature, but with disproportionately thick walls. The bell tower of the temple is built in a pyramidal shape with a tent-like finish. Researchers of the architectural monuments of Transcarpathia assume that the walls of the church were once decorated with frescoes. The church acquired its modern appearance in 1903. In 2003, the building was restored.

Where to stay
When you zoom out of the map, you can see more offers. Hover over the rectangle with the price for
to see information about the accommodation, or click to go to booking.
Booking.com
There are no comments for this post. Comment or ask questions first