Corzo

This is the historical center of the city – the central and most crowded Corso street (translated from Italian, “corso” means “street where people stroll”), where there is no greenery at all.

Uzhhorod. Korzo Street
The street got its name back in the days when the city was owned by the Drugets, it was also called Mostova and bore the name of the famous Hungarian writer and teacher F. Kazintsi.
Some of the buildings were built in the Czechoslovak period.

Uzhhorod. Corzo Street

The building at the intersection of Korzo and Voloshyn streets, which at first glance may not attract the attention of an ordinary passer-by, was known in the past under the name “White Ship”, which it inherited from the government inn that was located here until 1902 In 1909, the building burned down, but over time it was rebuilt. Today it is a residential building with shops and cafes on the first floor (Corzo, No. 17).

Uzhhorod. Corzo Street

The former Zoloty Klyuchyk store, now a bank (Korzo, No. 19/Voloshina St., No. 5).

Uzhhorod. Corzo Street

Crossroads Korzo and st. Hair or the so-called The Cross is a favorite meeting place for residents and guests of the city.

Str. Hair

Voloshyn Street got its name already in the years of independence in honor of the former president of Carpathian Ukraine Augustyn Voloshyn. This is one of the richest architectural and historical sights of Uzhhorod street. At different historical times, individual parts of the street had their own names.

Roman Catholic Church of St. George (Yuriya) 1762-1766 with paintings by Janos Lukacs (1763) and a neo-baroque altar with paintings by L.Y. Krakker (1895) (Voloshina St., No. 9).

The first church girls’ educational institution of the city – the Roman Catholic Lyceum of St. Giselle, 1902-1907, whose sculpture still adorns the pediment of the Uzhgorod State Music School named after WHERE. Zadora (Voloshina St., #13).

St. Gisella (ca. 985 – 1065) was the wife of the first Hungarian king István I the Holy (975 – 1038), who after her husband’s death returned to her homeland in Bavaria, where she underwent a tonsure and was canonized after her death. The Soviet authorities handed over the building to a music school. The new owners removed the cross from the roof, and the sculpture of St. The Giselles were walled up and only in 1996 was the sculpture restored.

Uzhhorod
Part of the block Voloshyn Street is occupied by the buildings of the former arcade of the “shoe king Tomas Bati” – the so-called Bati Passage, through which you can also get to the Theater Square and also admire or even buy canvases of modern Transcarpathian artists.

Uzhhorod. Bati Passage
At Str. Voloshina, #37 is the Transcarpathian Art Institute. The first art educational institution in Transcarpathia was founded in March 1946 under the name Uzhgorod State Art and Industrial School headed by A.M. Erdely The teachers at the school were such outstanding artists as Yosyp Bokshai, Fedir Manaylo, Andriy Kotska, Adalbert Boretskyi, Ernest Kontratovych, Ivan Garapko, Vasyl Svida, Vilhelm Berets, Sandor Petki, Viktor Demidyuk, Lyudmila Averkiyeva, Attila Dunchak, Yosyp Pal, Ivan Manaylo, Mykola Medvetskyi, Pavlo Balla, Edita Medvetskyi, Ivan Masniuk, Vasyl Petretskyi and others.

Uzhhorod. Transcarpathian Art Institute
In 1990, the staff of the school under the leadership of Ivan Nebesnyk began changes in the educational process and opened new specialties. In 1995, with the permission of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine, the school was renamed the Uzhgorod College of Arts named after A. Erdely with the right to train bachelors, and by order of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine dated June 15, 2003 No. 361-r, the ZakArpat Art Institute. The college was included in the structure called the College of Arts named after A. Erdely of the Transcarpathian Art Institute. The leading artists of Transcarpathia – Vyacheslav Prykhodko, Vasyl Skakandii, Lyudmila Korzh-Radko, Odarka Dolgosh-Sopko, Borys Kuzma and others – were invited to teach. In June 2009, the first graduation of the fifth year of the institute took place, who defended the level of a specialist in the specialties of fine and decorative and applied arts, as well as design.

At the end of the street is the monumental building of the former Basilian Monastery, 1912. Today, students of the physics and biology faculties of the Uzhhorod National University study here, and there is also a unique zoological museum (Voloshina St., No. 54).

Until 1947, there was a church founded by Orthodox Greeks in the courtyard of the monastery. At first, the Greeks visited the Greek-Catholic church on Tsegolna, but in 1782 the community decided to build its own church. Bishop Andrii Bachynskyi spoke against it because he did not want the Greek Catholic Church to lose its rich Greek parishioners. However, the authorities of the committee were also interested in Greek capital, so they contributed to obtaining a land allotment and a construction permit. During 1786-1787, a new church was built. A cemetery was also opened around the church, where only believers were buried. By the middle of the 19th century the Greek religious community decreased, and in 1900 the land allotment with all the property was sold to the Mukachevo Greek Catholic Diocese. In 1906, the church and the surrounding area were destroyed by fire.

Uzhhorod. Basilian Monastery

In October 1911, the foundation stone of the future Basilian Monastery was consecrated on the land. Construction according to the project of the Uzhgorod architect E. Kovosh lasted one year. Before the First World War, it was the tallest building Uzhhorod. Since 1921, half of the monastery premises were occupied by the Presidium of the Court of Subcarpathian Rus, so the number of educational places had to be reduced. In addition, most students had to pay for housing and other services: 3,500 Czech crowns, 6 kg of fat, 18 kg of beans and 100 eggs per year.

Uzhhorod. Basilian Monastery

In 1925, a printing house was established at the monastery, and on September 1, 1937, a gymnasium with the Ukrainian language of instruction was opened in the Saint Basil’s Monastery (it operated until 1938).
The former Greek church, which was used as a warehouse, was rebuilt and consecrated in honor of St. Basil the Great. J. Bokshai made beautiful paintings on the walls.

Uzhhorod. Basilian Monastery

The beginning of the decline of the monastery was the decision of the First Vienna Arbitration, according to which Uzhhorod was transferred to Hungary. And with the arrival of Soviet power, the monastery was closed altogether, the property was confiscated, and the church was turned into a warehouse. All the monastery premises were transferred to the Uzhgorod State University.

Str. Ivan Olbracht

The street arose in the second half of the 19th century. and was called Basement Row. The basement row was a favorite place of rest for Uzhgorod residents, because it was here that you could taste various varieties of local wines.

On I. Olbracht Street, behind the former Basilian Monastery, there is a Botanical Garden of the Uzhgorod National University, which contains about 3,800 species of plants. The Botanic Garden was created in 1946 and occupies an area of 4.5 hectares.

Opposite is the former mansion of the writer Ivan Olbracht (ul. Olbracht, №21)

Uzhhorod. Writer Ivan Olbracht's mansion
On the left side of the street, in the andesite body of the castle hill, attention is drawn to the old wine cellars. Above the wine cellars, on the steep slope of the castle hill, the building in the constructivist style attracts attention, which today houses the Hungarological Center of UzhNU. This is the former villa of Andrii Brodiy (1895-1946), a famous Transcarpathian political figure.

 

Where to stay in Uzhgorod

When you zoom out of the map, you can see more offers. Hover over the price rectangle to see information about the property, or click to go to booking.

Booking.com