Zvyagel (1795-2022 – Novohrad-Volynskyi) – district center Zhytomyr Region.

By resolution of the Verkhovna Rada of November 16, 2022, the city returned its historical name Zviagel.

The city was first mentioned under the name Vozvyagel in 1256 in the “Galician-Volyn Chronicle”. A year later, he was burned by the wife of Prince Danylo Halytskyi.

In 1340, Zvyagel falls under the rule of Lithuanian feudal lords, from the middle of the 14th century, princes Zvyagelskiy became its owners, then the city fell into the possession of Countess Zubova. And in 1507, the great Lithuanian prince Alexander gave the city to prince Konstantin Ostrozhsky. The main building of the new settlement was the castle, built in 1507 by order of Prince Konstantin Ostrozhsky.

Hotels near the castle:

  • Hotel Leon – Hotel “Leon” from UAH 800/day for two with breakfast, private parking and free Wi-Fi.

Novograd-Volynskyi

After the Union of Lublin in 1569, Zwiagel came under the rule of Poland.
During the liberation war, the Ukrainian Cossacks in 1648-51 and the troops of Maxim Kryvonos destroyed part of the walls and towers of the castle, and expelled the Polish nobility from the city. But after the Andrushevsky Peace Treaty, Zvyagel again falls under the power of Poland.

Legends of Zvyagel. The Sluch River, on which the city is located, was deep-water and navigable in ancient times. But treacherous rocks protruded from under the water in the area of ​​the city. At night, in the dark, ships hit their bottoms and sank. Therefore, in the dark and on foggy days, a rope with suspended bells was stretched across the river. At night, the ships clung to the rope, and the jingle of the bell warned them of danger. Since the ships sailed on the river often, the bell rang often. That’s why the city got the name Zvyagel, from the words “to ring”, “to ring”, “to ring”.

According to the second legend, the land on which the city was located was rich in iron deposits. A settlement arose here since ancient times, in which the main occupation of men was blacksmithing. The river near the city made a sharp turn, and people sailing on ships could hear from afar how the anvils were being ground.

The third legend tells that a blacksmith named Zvyagel lived on the banks of the Sluch River. He was well known for his skill, and his forge was constantly ringing with hammers. Then Zviagel got married, built a house near the forge. Over time, a city arose in this place, which was called after the name of the blacksmith – Zvyagel.

The fate of Novograd-Volynskyi was not spared by the presence of famous people. The outstanding military commander M.I. visited the city with his staff. Kutuzov. In 1846, T.G. visited these places. Shevchenko and described the Sluch river in the story “Varnak”.

The history of the city is inextricably linked with the name of the great Ukrainian poetess Lesya Ukrainka. In the state archive of the Zhytomyr region, there is a record book of the Transfiguration Cathedral Church for 1871, which contains a record that on February 13, according to the old style, a daughter Larisa was born to the family of collegial secretary Peter Antonovych Teteruk and his legal wife Olga Petrivna. The house on the former Zhytomyrska street, in which L. Ukrainka was born, has been preserved to this day.

 

Where to stay

In order to see more housing offers, we recommend adjusting the scale of the map to your device. Place the cursor on the rectangle with the price to view the information about the accommodation, and click to proceed to the reservation.


Booking.com

 

Where