Uzhok is a village in the Velikobereznya district, Transcarpathian region, located just below the Uzhock Pass on the bank of the Uzh River.

The origin of the name of the village is primarily associated with the name of the river.
The fact that the territory of the village has been inhabited since ancient times is evidenced by archaeological finds, in particular, a bronze sword of the 11th-10th centuries. B.C.
It is said that it was a rather large settlement, but after the plague epidemic, only one resident remained alive. Over time, the village was settled by people from the neighboring villages of Gnyla, Yavoriv, and Syanka.

Written sources mention the village from 1582. and testify that Uzhok belonged to the Druget family by hereditary right.

The wooden church of St. Mykhailo, 1745 with a classic Verkhovyna belfry in 1927.

Ужок. Дерев’яна церква св. Михайла, 1745р.
The inscription above the door indicates that this church in the Boykiv style was built by masters Pavlo Toniv from the village of Bitli (Lviv Region) and Ivan Tsyganin from the village of Quiet.
There are also inscriptions on the walls of the church, which for centuries recorded the names of the curators who undercut the church and carried out repair work.

Ужок. Дерев’яна церква св. Михайла, 1745р.

There is evidence that the temple did not always stand where it is now. The building was moved down to the road because it was difficult for the elderly to climb the slope.

The need for a separate belfry arose because during the First World War, the Austrian government removed the bells for military purposes, and the new ones were so heavy that they did not dare to install them in the tower above the church.

Ужок. Дерев’яна дзвіниця

The interior of the church has also undergone changes – the walls are covered with clapboard, the icons have been repainted. The carving of the iconostasis of the 18th century, fragments of the old carving, canopy and ark in the sanctuary have been preserved.

Ужок. Дерев’яна церква св. Михайла, 1745р.

Uzhok is rich in mineral springs, so in the 18th and 19th centuries. there was a sanatorium with a well-organized territory, which the local residents called “thirty” (there were 30 houses for vacationers).
Unfortunately, in 1915 during the First World War, the sanatorium was destroyed. The only thing left from the famous balneological resort is a Hercules statue, which strangles a huge snake and is a symbol of the healing power of the springs.

Ужок

According to legend, the statue was installed near one of the springs in 1842 by an American who got back on his feet after a course of treatment. The statue was cast at the foundry of the village Turya Remeta (author – Kinne V.)
“Iron Ivan”, as he was nicknamed by local residents, now decorates the courtyard of the Uzhhorod Historical Museum.

Ужок. Статуя Геркулеса

In 1914, the village twice became the scene of hostilities between Russian and Austro-Hungarian troops.
On the fronts of the Second World War, the village of Uzhok lost two volunteers of the Red Army and nine soldiers of the Czechoslovak Army Corps. On October 16, 1944, the village was liberated from the fascist invaders.
Today, the village operates a boarding house “Uzhok” and a ski base of the same name.

Ужок. Статуя Геркулеса
 

Where to stay

When you zoom out of the map, you can see more offers. Place the cursor on the rectangle with the price for
to see information about the accommodation, or click to proceed to the reservation.


Booking.com

Where is